Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Dorothea Mladenova

Japanologie
Seit April 2016
(Stipendiaten, 1. April 2016 - 31. August 2016)

mladenova@dijtokyo.org

Forschungsinteressen

Sterben & Tod, Sicherheit, Gouvernementalität

 

Projekt: „Vom optimierten Ableben des unternehmerischen Selbst – shūkatsu (終活) in Japan“

“Es ist ein Zeitalter angebrochen, in dem es nötig ist, über seinen eigenen Tod nachzudenken.“ (自分の死については、自分で考えなければいけない時代がやってきました, http://www.shukatsu-fesuta.com/shuukatsu/index.html)

Unternehmerisches Handeln findet längst nicht mehr nur auf der Ebene von Unternehmen statt, sondern wird immer mehr in das Individuum hinein verlagert. Das Individuum erhält in neoliberalen Gesellschaften immer mehr Optionen zur Selbstverwirklichung in Arbeit, Freizeit und Familie. Dies geht zugleich mit der Pflicht einher, sich selbst als Ressource zu begreifen, die zu managen und zu optimieren ist. Misslingt die Selbstverwirklichung, werden die Gründe hierfür im individuellen Scheitern verortet, die strukturelle Ebene bleibt hingegen meist ausgeblendet. Bekannte Subjektformationen in der deutschsprachigen Diskussion, die solche Prozesse beschreiben, sind der Arbeitskraftunternehmer (Voß/Pongratz), das unternehmerische Selbst (Bröckling) oder der Alterskraftunternehmer (Dyk/Lessenich).

Vor diesem Hintergrund erscheint die seit 2009 unter dem Begriff shūkatsu (終活) gefasste aktive Vorbereitung des eigenen Sterbens als eine Erweiterung der bisher bekannten Sphäre des Optimierbaren. Auch im eigenen Sterben und Tod gibt es suboptimale Outcomes, so die Grundannahme, die das Individuum jedoch mit der richtigen Vorsorge positiv beeinflussen kann (oder muss). Diese Aktivität beginnt bei der Organisation des eigenen Grabgrundstücks und der Bestattungszeremonie, kann aber auch Versicherungs- und Erbschaftsfragen betreffen, sowie allgemeinere Fragen der Wohnungsentrümpelung und der Pflege.

Das vorliegende Projekt untersucht den gesellschaftlichen Kontext, vor dem shūkatsu entstehen konnte, und greift dabei u.a. Fragen der Demographie, des Wandels familiärer Strukturen, des Silbermarkts und des gesellschaftlichen Umgangs mit dem Tod auf. Theoretisch geleitet ist die Forschung durch die kritische Gerontologie und die governmentality studies.

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Dorothea Mladenova

Japanese Studies
(PhD Students, April 1, 2016 - August 31, 2016)

mladenova@dijtokyo.org

Research interests

Death & Dying, security, governmentality

 

Project: “On the optimized passing of the entrepreneurial self – shūkatsu ( ) in Japan”

 “An era has dawned, in which it has become necessary to think about one’s own death.” (自分の死については、自分で考えなければいけない時代がやってきました, http://www.shukatsu-fesuta.com/shuukatsu/index.html)

Entrepreneurial activity is no longer taking place only on the corporate level. Instead, it is increasingly employed on the individual level. Within neoliberal societies the individual is offered more and more options for self-realization in work, leisure and family. Simultaneously, one is required to understand oneself as a resource that has to be managed and optimized. In case of failure to achieve self-realization, this is generally seen as an individual failure, while the structural level is not addressed. Prominent subject formations in the German academic debate that refer to this process are the ‘entreployee’ (Arbeitskraftunternehmer, Voß/ Pongratz), the ‘entrepreneurial self’ (Bröckling) or the ‘age entreployee’ (Dyk / Lessenich).

Against this background, shūkatsu (終活), the pro-active preparation of one’s own death, appears as an extension of the hitherto known sphere of things that can be optimized during one’s life course. The underlying assumption is that even in the realm of death and dying there are sub-optimal outcomes, that the individual can (or even has to) prevent by taking the appropriate steps. Coined in 2009, the term originally referred to the organization of one’s own grave plot and the funeral ceremony, but it has come to include insurance and inheritance issues as well as more general questions as the clearing of the house and elderly care.

This project examines the social context in which the shūkatsu-activities could develop and engages, among other things, with demographics, the changing nature of family structures, the silver market and the general way in which the Japanese society deals with death. The theoretical bases are critical gerontology and governmentality studies.

Presentations

September 1, 2016
Managing One’s Own Death: The Shūkatsu Industry and the Enterprising Self in an Ageing Society. Managing One’s Own Death: The Shūkatsu Industry and the Enterprising Self in an Ageing Society.

CV


Since 04/2016
PhD Student at the German Institute for Japanese Studies Tokyo (DIJ)

Since 03/2013
Research assistant at the East Asian Institute, Japanese Studies, University of Leipzig

2012
M.A. in Japanese Studies, Bulgarian Studies and Sociology at the University of Leipzig

10/2007–09/2008
Exchange student at Chiba University