Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Inger M. Bachmann

Politikwissenschaft
Seit Oktober 2013
(Stipendiaten, 1. Oktober 2013 - 28. Februar 2014)

bachmann@dijtokyo.org

 

Forschungsinteressen

  • Demographischer Wandel
  • Politikfeldanalyse
  • Urban Governance

 

Dissertationsprojekt

Arbeitstitel: Civic engagement in urban areas in an aging society – the promotion of senior citizen participation in selected municipalities of Tokyo

Vor dem Hintergrund des demographischen Wandels hat sich das Tokyo Metropolitan Government in seiner ‚Tokyo Vision 2020‘ u.a. zum Ziel gesetzt, ein „urban model for a society with a low birthrate and aging society“ zu gestalten. Darin werden die 23 Bezirke in Tokyo dazu aufgefordert, entsprechende Maßnahmen zu implementieren um eine Umgebung zu schaffen, in der es älteren Menschen erleichtert wird, in Freiwilligenorganisationen, Non-Profit Organisationen und Gemeindeaktivitäten beteiligt zu sein.

Dieses Vorhaben untersucht, wie und mit welchen Maßnahmen ausgewählte Kommunen innerhalb Tokyos dieses Ziel zu erreichen versuchen. Am Beispiel der Kommunen Tokyos soll analysiert werden, unter welchen institutionellen und nicht-institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen sich vermehrt bürgergesellschaftliches Engagement von Senioren beobachten lässt. Vor dem Hintergrund aktueller Dezentralisierungsreformen ist dabei auch von Interesse, inwiefern sich die Maßnahmen unterscheiden und ob die Lokalverwaltungen den lokalen Besonderheiten der jeweiligen Kommune Rechnung tragen.

Für die Analyse wird das von Elinor Ostrom entwickelte Institutional Analysis and Development (IAD) Framework herangezogen. Das IAD Framework ist ein systematischer Ansatz für die Analyse von Institutionen, die Handlungen und Ergebnisse innerhalb von Ordnungen kollektiven Handelns steuern. Die dem Ansatz zugrunde liegende Theorie ist verwandt mit der Public Choice Theory, unterscheidet sich jedoch dadurch, dass das Verhalten von Akteuren nicht nur anhand ihrer persönlichen Präferenzen sondern auch vor dem Hintergrund der „situationsbedingten Logik (situational logic)“ analysiert wird. Demnach werden die Merkmale von Akteuren auch von Regeln beeinflusst, die ihre Handlungssituation (action situation) gestalten.

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Inger M. Bachmann

Political Science
Since October 2013
(PhD Students, October 1, 2013 - February 28, 2014)

bachmann@dijtokyo.org

 

Research Interests

  • Demographic Change
  • Policy Analysis
  • Urban Governance

 

Dissertation project

Working title: Civic engagement in urban areas in an aging society – the promotion of senior citizen participation in selected municipalities of Tokyo

Against the background of the ongoing demographic change, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government declared the goal to “build and show the world an urban model for a society with a low birth rate and aging society” in its Tokyo Vision 2020. The 23 wards of Tokyo are to implement appropriate measures to create an environment in which it is easier for older people to be involved in voluntary services, non-profit organizations and community planning.

This project examines how and with what sort of measures selected municipalities in Tokyo are trying to achieve this goal. Using the example of Tokyo’s municipalities it will be analyzed under what institutional and non – institutional settings an increased civic engagement of seniors can be observed. Against the background of current decentralization reforms it is also of interest to what extent the measures of the local governments take account for the local characteristics of each municipality and differ from each other.

The analysis will use the Institutional Analysis and Development (IAD) framework, which has been developed by Elinor Ostrom. The IAD framework is a systematic approach to analyze institutions that govern the actions and results within arrangements of collective action. The theory underlying this approach is related to the public choice theory, but differs in that the behavior of actors is not only based on their personal preferences, but also analyzed in light of the “situational logic”. According to this, the characteristics of actors are influenced by the rules that shape their action situation and thus need be taken into account.