Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien
Steve R. Entrich

Steve R. Entrich

Steve R. Entrich
Bildungssoziologie
Seit März 2013
(Stipendiaten, 1. März 2013 - 30. September 2013)

entrich@dijtokyo.org

 

  • Bildung in Japan und Deutschland aus vergleichender Perspektive
  • International „Shadow Education“
  • Bildungsniveau und soziale Herkunft
  • Bildungsreformpolitik und Bildungsreformprozesse aus vergleichender und historischer Perspektive

 

Dissertationsprojekt:

Arbeitstitel: Shadow Education in Germany and Japan – An Instrument to Neutralize Disadvantaged Family Background?

Die außerschulische, privat bezahlte Nachhilfe oder „Schattenbildung“, wie diese Form des Unterrichts an privaten Institutionen betitelt wird, ist in den vergangenen Jahren weltweit expandiert und verzeichnet einen stetig zunehmenden Einfluss für den Bildungsgang von Schülern. Während auch in Deutschland mittlerweile einige Studien zu Nachhilfe existieren, gibt es deutschlandweit noch keine differenzierte interkulturelle Vergleichsuntersuchung zu diesem Thema, die neue Sichtweisen eröffnen könnte.

Die grundlegende Fragestellung, ob die zunehmende Nutzung bezahlter Nachhilfe in Deutschland soziale Ungleichheiten weiter fördert, ist von nationalem Interesse. Am Beispiel Japan, einem Land in dem traditionell viel in außerschulische Zusatzbildung investiert wird, soll gezeigt werden, dass Nachhilfe nicht nur als Mittel zum Zweck, sondern durchaus auch als Bildungsniveauausgleich für sozial benachteiligte Schüler dienen kann.

Im Rahmen dieses Dissertationsprojektes werden neben der Datenanalyse auf Grundlage der PISA-Studie des Jahres 2009, zwei weitere länderspezifische Datensätze ausgewertet (Japan: Hyogo High School Students‘ Survey, HHSS 2011; Deutschland: Lebensverläufe ins frühe Erwachsenenalter, LifE 2012). Darüber hinaus ist die Durchführung einer eigenen Erhebung (An Investigation concerning Juku- and Nachhilfe-lessons in Japan and Germany, JuNa 2013) in Japan und Deutschland geplant. Die Notwendigkeit der Durchführung dieser ergänzenden Erhebung resultiert aus dem Bedarf nach weiterer Einsicht in die Schattenbildungssysteme beider Länder. Hier beinhaltet PISA zwar insgesamt zwei Variablen zu Nutzungsintensität und -häufigkeit von Nachhilfe, es fehlt jedoch an Daten zu Angebot, Organisation und Motivation für die Inanspruchnahme von kommerzieller Nachhilfe, die die Nutzung dieser ergänzenden, kostenintensiven Bildung hinreichend erklärt.

Weitere Analysen mit Datensätzen wie PISA oder TIMSS haben jedoch bereits gezeigt, dass ein tieferer (auch qualitativer) Einblick in diese Sphäre von Bildungsrealität vonnöten ist, um erbrachte empirische Ergebnisse überhaupt verstehen und sinnvoll interpretieren zu können. Der interkulturelle Vergleich zweier außerschulischer Zusatzschulsysteme soll hier im Verbund von PISA-Daten mit dieser ergänzenden Datenerhebung zu neuen Einsichten und Erkenntnissen führen, die breite Publikation erfahren sollen.

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien
Steve R. Entrich

Steve R. Entrich

Steve R. Entrich
Sociology of Education
Since March 2013
(PhD Students, March 1, 2013 - September 30, 2013)

entrich@dijtokyo.org

 

  • Education in Japan and Germany from a Comparative Point of View
  • International “Shadow Education”
  • Academic Achievement/Educational Attainment and Social Origin
  • Education Reform Policy and -Processes from a Comparative as well as Historic Point of View

 

Ph.D.-project:

Working Title: Shadow Education in Germany and Japan – An Instrument to Neutralize Disadvantaged Family Background?

Today, extracurricular, privately paid tuition or “shadow education”, as this type of teaching at private institutions is entitled, is a worldwide phenomenon. The importance of shadow education for the educational trajectory of students is constantly growing. Although there are a few studies about out-of-school education by now in Germany, there is no differentiated intercultural comparative study on this subject that may open up new perspectives.

The fundamental question of whether the increasing use of shadow education in Germany promotes social inequalities is of national interest. Using the example of Japan – a country where the investment in out-of-school lessons has a long tradition – it shall be shown that shadow education can serve not only as a means to an end, but might also function as some kind of compensatory education for disadvantaged students.

In addition to the data analysis based on the PISA survey of the year 2009, two country-specific data sets will be analyzed as part of this dissertation project (Japan: Hyogo High School Students’ Survey, HHSS 2011; Germany: Pathways from Late Childhood to Adulthood Study, LifE 2012). Furthermore, the implementation of an own survey, the JuNa-survey, will be carried out in Japan and Germany (An Investigation concerning Juku- and Nachhilfe-lessons in Japan and Germany, JuNa 2013). The need for the implementation of this supplementary survey results from the need for further insight into the shadow education systems of both countries. Although PISA provides us with two variables about intensity and frequency of out-of-school education, no data about supply and organization of Juku as well as students’ motivation to attend private schools, which explains the use of this supplementary education sufficiently, is provided.

Different analysis with data sets, such as TIMSS, however, have already shown that a deeper (and also more qualitative) insight into this sphere of education reality is needed to fully understand and interpret the empirical results in a meaningful way. This cross-cultural comparison of two extracurricular school systems shall lead to new insights and discoveries that will find wide publication.