Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien
Shu-Hui Lin

Shu-Hui Lin

Shu-Hui Lin
Rechtswissenschaften, Kunstgeschichte
Seit September 2018
(Stipendiaten, 1. September 2018 - 28. Februar 2019)

lin@dijtokyo.org

Pflichten und Haftung des Kunstexperten im deutschen und japanischen Recht

Laut dem Finanzministerium Taiwans ist, im Falle, dass der Verkäufer kein ausreichendes Dokument zum Nachweis des Transaktionsgewinns und des Verlustes des Auktionsergebnisses vorlegen kann, wurde die geschätzte Rendite bei Kunstauktionen seit Januar 2016 von 9-15% auf 6% gesenkt. Somit liegt der Gesamtsteuersatz für Kunstauktionen in einer Bandbreite von 0,3 – 0,7%. Durch eine solche erhebliche Steuersenkung wird erwartet, dass internationale Kunstsammler dazu angeregt werden, ihre Gebote in Taiwan abzugeben, und der dortige Kunstauktionsmarkt dadurch wieder florieren wird. Zur Stärkung des Kunsthandelsstandorts Taiwan sind inzwischen auch Kunstwissenschaftler und -praktiker in der Kunstbranche bestrebt, sowohl ein nationales System als auch Vorschriften für die Kunstauthentifizierung einzuführen. Vor diesem Hintergrund besteht das Hauptziel dieser Arbeit darin, die möglichen Pflichten und Haftung von Kunstexperten bei der Durchführung von Kunstauthentifizierungen zu beleuchten. Da das taiwanesische Zivilrecht auf der Rechtsrezeption des deutschen und japanischen Rechts beruht, sollten das deutsche und japanische Rechtssystem als Grundlagen berücksichtigt werden, um die taiwanische Rechtsordnung auszubilden. Dieses Dissertationsprojekt verwendet die funktionale Methode der Rechtsvergleichung, um sowohl die wissenschaftliche Literatur als auch die Rechtsprechungen der beiden Länder zu untersuchen.

In der Praxis wird die Haftung des Verkäufers häufig ausgeschlossen oder beschränkt, sodass ein Rücktritt vom Kaufvertrag nicht immer möglich ist. Daraus stellt sich die Frage, ob, und wenn ja, auf welcher Grundlage der Kunstexperte gegenüber dem Käufer haftet, welcher mit dem Experten keinen Vertrag abgeschlossen hat, aber im Vertrauen aufgrund einer fehlhaften Expertise eine Fälschung als ein Original erwirbt. Fraglich ist auch, ob die Haftung des Kunstexperten gegenüber Dritten begrenzt bzw. ausgeschlossen werden kann. Während der BGH den Vertrag mit Schutzwirkung zugunsten Dritter als Expertenhaftungsgrundlage entschied, ist die von Kurt Ballerstedt und Claus-Wilhelm Canaris geprägte Theorie der Vertrauenshaftung, die durch die Schuldrechtsmodernisierung 2002 in §311 Abs. 3 BGB eingeführt wurde, die herrschende Ansicht für die Lösung der Dritthaftungsproblematik. Nach dieser Regelung erstreckt sich die Haftung für vorvertragliche Pflichtverletzungen auf Dritte, also auf Kunstexperten. Anders als in Deutschland wurde die Haftung von Kunstexperten in Japan noch kaum diskutiert. In anderen Fällen wurde die Dritthaftung bei vorvertraglicher Pflichtverletzungen in der Rechtsprechung und im Schrifttum überwiegend mit dem Prinzip von Treu und Glauben behandelt. In Japan ist eine Dritthaftung für vorvertragliche Pflichtverletzungen gesetzlich nicht vorgeschrieben, selbst wenn die Theorie culpa in contrahendo seit Jahrzehnten in der japanischen Rechtslehre zu finden ist. In der Diskussion der japanischen Schuldrechtsreform 2017 wurde §311 BGB zwar als das rechtsvergleichende Beispiel genannt, die Regelungsvorschläge diesbezüglich sind aber in dem Reformentwurf nicht zu sehen.

Neben den vorvertraglichen Pflichten werden in dieser Arbeit die Haftung von Kunstexperten bei der Durchführung eines Kunstauthentifizierungsvertrages sowie ihre nachvertraglichen Pflichten untersucht. Dieses Dissertationsprojekt versucht, die Pflichten und Haftung von Kunstexperten in jeder Phase der Kunstauthentifizierung zu beleuchten, indem es deutsche Gesetze und japanische Gesetze gründlich vergleicht, in der Hoffnung, Vorschläge und Informationen für künftige Fortentwicklungen des taiwanischen Rechts zu liefern.

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Shu-Hui Lin

Shu-Hui Lin
Law, Art History
Since September 2018
(PhD Students, September 1, 2018 - February 28, 2019)

lin@dijtokyo.org

Duties and Liabilities of Art Experts under German and Japanese Law

According to the Taiwanese Ministry of Finance, since January 2016 in case that an individual cannot provide sufficient document to prove the transactional profit and loss of the auctioned artworks, the estimated rate of return was reduced from 9 to15 percent to 6 percent. As a result, the total tax rate for art auction falls into a range between zero-point-three to two-point-seven. Such a significant tax cut is expected to incentivize international art collectors to place their bids in Taiwan, where the art market may thus become flourishing again. Meanwhile, art scholars and practitioners in art industry endeavored to set up both a national-level system and a set of regulations for art authentications. Based on this background, the main objective of this dissertation project is to illuminate art experts’ possible duties and liability when conducting art authentications. Since the Taiwanese Civil Code based on the legal transplant of German and Japanese laws, in order to establish and develop laws and regulations in Taiwan, this thesis uses the functional method of comparative law to examine the academic literatures as well as court rulings of the two countries.

In practices of art markets, it is common to limit or even exclude seller’s defect liability by general terms and conditions or an agreement. However, when a forgery artwork was mistaken as genuine and the deal was done because both seller and buyer believed and relied upon an erroneous art authentication certificate, then controversies arose such as whether and what legal liability the art experts should be liable for and, if so, whether such liability could be limited and excluded. The Federal Court of Justice of Germany applied the concept of contract with protective effects towards third parties as the basis of experts’ liabilities; whereas the prevailing view of scholars was to conform to the principle of liability based on trust proposed by Kurt Ballerstedt and Claus-Wilhelm Canaris. In the Act on the Modernization of the German Law of Obligations promulgated in January 2002, the principle of liability based on trust was enacted into Article 311 (3) of German Civil Act, according to which, a non-contracting party like an art expert in such case will be held liable for culpa in contrahendo (pre-contractual liability). Unlike in Germany, it is hardly to find a discussion about art experts’ liability in Japan. According to the court rulings and academic literatures, experts’ third-party liability of other types generally based on the principle of good faith. The Japanese Civil Code does not explicitly mention pre-contractual liability. Nevertheless, there was already a long-existing legal interpretation among scholars to borrow the concept of culpa in contrahendo to solve this issue. During legislative discussion for the Amendments to the Civil Code of Japan in 2017, although Article 311 of the German Civil Act was cited as a legal comparative reference, the article was not enacted into the final draft of the amendment.

Other than the pre-contractual duties abovementioned, this thesis will go on to explore art experts’ liability during the performance of an art authentication contract as well as their post-contractual duties. By thoroughly comparing German laws and Japan laws, this dissertation project attempts to illuminate art experts’ duties and liabilities at each phase of art authentication, in the hope of providing suggestions and information for future development of Taiwanese law.

Memberships

Curriculum Vitae


Since 09/2018
Ph.D. Fellowship, German Institute for Japanese Studies, Tokyo

07/2018 - 08/2018
Ishibashi Summer School in Japanese Arts and Cultural Heritage, University of East Anglia / Sainsbury Institute for the Study of Japanese Arts and Cultures (with Ishibashi Foundation Scholarship), Norwich

Since 10/2017
Museum guide, Department of Art Education, Museum of Modern Art Frankfurt am Main

08/2017 - 10/2017
Internship, Art Expert Department, Nagel Auction Stuttgart

Since 2016
Studies in East Asian Art History and European Art History, Heidelberg University

Since 2016
Ph.D. candidate, Faculty of Law, Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main

2016 - 2018
Government-funded Study Abroad Scholarship, Ministry of Education TAIWAN

2015
Legal Research Associate, Intellectual Property / M&A, Baker McKenzie Frankfurt am Main

2013 - 2015
Master of Laws, Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main

2010 - 2012
Served in a law firm and in the Legal & IP Department of an US-based global EMS company

2006 - 2010
Bachelor of Laws, National Taipei University