Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien


Please subscribe below to stay informed about our research activities, events, and publications:

    Choose Subscription:

    = required field

    Forschungsüberblick

    Der Fokus unserer Forschung liegt auf dem modernen Japan im globalen Kontext. Wir bestimmen unsere Forschungsagenda eigenständig mit Unterstützung eines wissenschaftlichen Beirats. Das Portfolio unserer Forschungsprojekte reflektiert den disziplinären Hintergrund und die Interessen unserer Wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Es ändert sich mit der Zusammensetzung unseres Teams.

    Unser Forschungsprogramm Risiken und Chancen – Japans Herausforderungen angesichts einer zunehmend ungewisseren Zukunft setzen wir durch vier institutsweite Forschungscluster zur Digitalen Transformation in Japan, Japan in transregionaler Perspektive, Methoden und Methodologien und Nachhaltigkeit und Resilienz um. Aktuelle Sonderprojekte zu den Tokyo Olympics, zum Einfluss von COVID-19 und verschiedene individuelle Projekte außerhalb der Forschungscluster ergänzen das Forschungsprogramm.

    Das DIJ arbeitet in vielen Forschungsprojekten mit Forschungsinstituten und Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt zusammen, u.a. in einem längerfristigen Projekt zu 'Asian Infrastructures' mit der National University of Singapore.

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien


Please subscribe to our DIJ Newsletter to stay informed about our research activities, events, and publications:

    Choose Subscription:

    = required field

    Research Overview

    Our research focuses on modern Japan in a global context. We decide our research agenda independently, with the support of our Academic Advisory Council. Our portfolio of research projects reflects the disciplinary background and interests of our senior researchers and changes together with the composition of our team.

    Our research programme Risks and Opportunities – Japan's Challenges in the Face of an Increasingly Uncertain Future is implemented through four institute-wide research foci studying the Future of Local Communities, Digital Transformation in Japan, Japan in Transregional Perspective, and Methods and Methodologies. Special projects on the Tokyo Olympics and on the impact of COVID-19 as well as various individual projects conducted outside of the four research foci complement the programme.

    The DIJ collaborates in many research projects with research institutes and scholars throughout the world, including a long-term research cooperation project on Borders, Mobility and New Infrastructures with the National Universty of Singapore.