Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Area Studies: Methodische Perspektiven und Ansätze

Forschungsgruppenleiterin: Nora Kottmann

Seit der Gründung des DIJs im Jahr 1988 forschen Wissenschaftler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen zum modernen und gegenwärtigen Japan. Die Forscher*innen aus der Soziologie, den Politik­- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, den Kulturwissenschaften, der Geschichte und der Ethnologie arbeiten zu einer Vielzahl an Themenfeldern und bedienen sich diverser methodischer Ansätze qualitativer und quantitativer Forschung: Zum Repertoire gehören neben klassischen qualitativen Methoden wie Interviews – von narrativ bis standardisiert –, Gruppendiskussionen, (teilnehmende) Beobachtungen und Diskursanalysen auch quantitative Methoden wie Text Mining, quantitative Inhaltsanalyse, Sekundäranalysen großer Datensätze und die Durchführung von landesweiten Umfragen.

Der am DIJ bislang bereits geführte Austausch zu Methoden und Methodologien in den Area Studies soll in dem neuen Schwerpunkt systematischer verfolgt und damit auch deutlicher positioniert werden. Ein Hauptaugenmerk liegt hierbei einerseits auf der Frage, wie methodische und methodologische Diskussionen eine zeitgemäße interdisziplinäre Forschung befruchten und vorantreiben können; andererseits auf der Frage, ob und wie Methoden – entsprechende Debatten über zugrundeliegende theoretische Perspektiven ebenso wie konkrete Ansätze – die Zukunft interdisziplinärer Forschung formen (können). Ein Fokus auf Methoden und Methodologien ermöglicht es darüber hinaus, die beiden Schwerpunktthemen des DIJ, namentlich „Digitale Transformation“ und „Zukunft lokaler Gemeinden“, die zweite Forschungsagenda „Japan in transregionaler Perspektive“, sowie die individuellen Forschungsprojekte zu verbinden und in einen konstruktiven Austausch miteinander zu treten: Welche Methoden eignen sich zur Erforschung fremd- oder transkultureller Kontexte? Welche Methoden eignen sich in Zeiten der Verwischung nationaler und disziplinärer Grenzen und der digitalen Transformation? Wie können wir mit neuen Situationen – bspw. der COVID-19 Pandemie und ihren Implikationen – umgehen? Und: Kann ein Austausch über Methoden interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit erleichtern und voranbringen?

Auf diese Weise streben wir an, zu aktuellen Fragestellungen und Diskussionen auch jenseits der Japanforschung aktiv beizutragen und eine Plattform für Austausch und Diskussion zu bieten, die Forschung zu/in Japan mit Forschung aus anderen Regionalwissenschaften und/oder den Disziplinen verbindet. Um diesen Austausch weiter zu institutionalisieren, bietet das DIJ unterschiedliche Veranstaltungsformate wie Veranstaltungsreihen zu verschiedenen Themenblöcken, Study Groups und DIJ Foren an. Eine Sammlung einschlägiger Literatur in der Bibliothek befindet sich derzeit im Aufbau.


Verwandte Forschungsprojekte

Handbook Project Studying Japan: Research Designs, Fieldwork and Methods

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Area Studies: Methodological Approaches

Head of Research Group: Nora Kottmann

Since the founding of the DIJ in 1988, scholars from various disciplines have been researching modern and contemporary Japan. Sociologists, political scientists, economists, historians, anthropologists and scholars from the humanities work on a wide range of topics and use a variety of methodological approaches of qualitative and quantitative research. In addition to classical qualitative methods such as interviews (from narrative to standardized), group discussions, (participatory) observation and discourse analysis, the repertoire also includes quantitative methods such as text mining, quantitative content analysis, secondary analysis of large data sets and the conduct of nationwide surveys.

Comparative perspectives as well as multi- and interdisciplinary approaches are already central to our research activities. The new and explicit research focus on methods and methodologies in Area Studies, however, allows us to systematize these perspectives and approaches and to position them more clearly in our research agenda. Here, one main focus is on the question of how methodological discussions can stimulate and advance contemporary interdisciplinary research. The second main focus is on the question of whether, and if yes, how methods – including corresponding debates on underlying theoretical perspectives as well as concrete approaches – (can) shape the future of interdisciplinary research. In addition, the focus on methods and methodologies enables us to link the other two DIJ research foci, namely ‘Digital Transformation – Discourses, Strategies and Processes’ and ‘The Future of Local Communities in Japan – Risks and Opportunities in the Face of Multiple Challenges’, as well as the second research agenda ‘Japan in Transregional Perspective’ and the various individual research projects and to enter into a constructive exchange with each other. Key questions that this exchange opens up include: Which methods are suitable for researching foreign or transcultural contexts? Which methods are suitable in times of blurring national and disciplinary boundaries and digital transformations? How can we deal with new situations – for example, the COVID-19 pandemic and its implications? And: Can an exchange on methods facilitate and advance interdisciplinary cooperation?

In so doing, we aim at actively contributing to research on current issues and discussions in the field of Japanese Studies and beyond and to offer a platform for exchange and discussion that combines research on/in Japan with research from other regional studies and/or the disciplines. In order to further institutionalize this exchange, the DIJ offers various event formats such as lecture series on various up-to-date topics, study groups and DIJ forums. A collection of relevant literature in the library is currently under construction.


Related Research Projects

Handbook Project Studying Japan: Research Designs, Fieldwork and Methods