Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

Die Zukunft der Gemeinden in Japans Regionen - Risiken und Chancen angesichts vielfältiger Herausforderungen

Forschungsgruppenleiterin: Sonja Ganseforth

Japans ländliche Räume stehen im Brennpunkt einer Reihe von Herausforderungen. Hierzu zählen die durch eine rasche Alterung und den Rückgang der Bevölkerung gekennzeichnete demographische Entwicklung, ein durch Globalisierung und technischen Fortschritt beschleunigter Strukturwandel sowie Aufgaben des Klimaschutzes und – damit verbunden – die vermehrte Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien. Die Regierung Abe misst der Lösung dieser Herausforderungen zentrale wirtschafts- und gesellschaftspolitische Bedeutung bei und bewirbt die diesbezüglichen politischen Initiativen unter dem Schlagwort „regional revitalization“ (chihō sōsei, 地方創生).
Die Projekte im Forschungsschwerpunkt untersuchen, wie lokale Akteure in den Gemeinden (shichōson, 市町村) außerhalb der Ballungszentren den vielfältigen Herausforderungen und den damit verbundenen Risiken und Chancen begegnen und welche Erfolge sie damit erzielen. Dabei sollen die unterschiedlichen Ausgangsbedingungen und Problemlagen auf lokaler Ebene explizit berücksichtigt werden.
Die Leitfragen werden in den Einzelprojekten auf verschiedene Themenfelder angewandt (siehe unten). Dabei werden die folgenden drei eng miteinander verschränkten Analyseebenen berücksichtigt.

Institutionelle Ebene: Die Beziehungen zwischen Akteuren auf der lokalen Ebene wie auch zwischen den Verwaltungsebenen werden durch institutionelle Rahmenbedingungen reguliert. Die in den letzten zwanzig Jahren zu beobachtenden institutionellen Veränderungsprozesse haben strukturelle Probleme in den Regionen zum Teil verschärft, zugleich aber auch neue Handlungsspielräume für lokale Akteure geschaffen. In welchem Umfang und auf welche Weise letztere genutzt werden, hängt nicht zuletzt wiederum von spezifischen lokalen Strukturen, Normen und Praktiken ab.

Akteursebene: Lokalspezifische Rahmenbedingungen, Interessenlagen und Akteurskonstellationen bedingen unterschiedliche Strategien und Ansätze bei der Bewältigung der eingangs beschriebenen Herausforderungen. Entsprechend variieren der Grad und die Effektivität politischer Initiativen und unternehmerischen Handelns, die Rolle und der Einfluss verschiedener Interessengruppen und das bürgerschaftliche Engagements auf lokaler Ebene.

Diskursebene: Idealtypische und stereotype Vorstellungen von Ländlichkeit, Gemeinschaft und Gemeindeleben prägen das Selbstverständnis lokaler Akteure und dienen als Referenz bei der Legitimierung von Handlungen und der Mobilisierung von Interessen. Sie werden in Narrativen konstruiert, tradiert und modifiziert. Die implizierten Deutungsmuster variieren zwischen Regionen und gesellschaftlichen Gruppen und konkurrieren untereinander in ihrem Anspruch um „Deutungshoheit“.

Die Einzelprojekte beinhalten neben der Erfassung und Auswertung wissenschaftlicher Literatur, wirtschaftlicher Verhältnisse, rechtlicher Rahmenbedingungen, politischer Prozesse und medialer Diskurse detaillierte, auf qualitativer Feldforschung basierende Fallstudien.

Mit seinem Fokus auf die lokale Ebene leistet der Forschungsschwerpunkt einen innovativen Beitrag zum besseren Verständnis wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Veränderungsprozesse in Japan. Dieser Ansatz bietet mehrere Vorteile:

  • Fallstudien einzelner Gemeinden erlauben eine genauere Erfassung der involvierten Stakeholder sowie eine Mikro-Analyse ihrer Strategien und Interaktionen.
  • Damit kann auch der Komplexität der Problemlagen, die sich aus der Gleichzeitigkeit und Interdependenz verschiedener Herausforderungen ergeben, besser Rechnung getragen werden.
  • Die Gemeinden in Japan zeichnet eine beachtliche Vielfalt hinsichtlich Ausgangsbedingungen, Problemlagen, Lösungsansätzen und Entwicklungsperspektiven aus. Diese Vielfalt wird leicht übersehen, wenn Japans Herausforderungen aggregiert, auf der nationalen Ebene untersucht werden.
  • Die Vielfalt lokaler Gegebenheiten und Entwicklungen eröffnet zugleich Möglichkeiten vergleichender und multivariater Analysen, die für das Verständnis des Einflusses lokaler Bedingungen sowie für die Verallgemeinerbarkeit von Ergebnissen entscheidend sind.

Verwandte Forschungsprojekte

Fischereigemeinden zwischen Wachstum und Niedergang

Den Menschen zuhören: Psychologische Basisfürsorge in ländlichen Gegenden in Japan

Regionalfragen auf der Bühne – Sozial engagiertes und Applied Theater in Japans Regionen

Parental well-being in the rural periphery of Germany and Japan: Choices, challenges, and considerations

Biomedical Engineering in Japan: Technische Innovationen und Forschungskooperationen

The meaning of local community for happiness and selfhood

Was ist “lokal”? Die politische Bedeutung von subnationalen Räumen in Japan

Completed Projects

Harvesting State Support – Endogenous Institutional Change and the Role of the “Local” in Japan’s Agricultural Support and Protection Regime

Die Politische Ökonomie von “Ländlicher Revitalisierung“ im Wandel

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien

The Future of Local Communities in Japan - Risks and Opportunities in the Face of Multiple Challenges

Head of research group: Sonja Ganseforth

Japan’s rural and semi-urban peripheries confront numerous challenges. Demographic shifts and depopulation, structural change due to globalization and technical development, and not least the task of climate protection including the increased use of renewable energy sources all have particularly grave implications in the non-metropolitan regions. In response, the socio-economic challenges are receiving a high political priority under the current Abe administration, as evidenced by the various economic and political initiatives bundled under the slogan “regional revitalization” (chihō sōsei, 地方創生).

The projects undertaken under this major research theme analyze how local actors at the municipal level (shichōson, 市町村) outside the metropolitan regions cope with the risks and opportunities arising from the multiple challenges mentioned above, and what results they are achieving. Moreover, through grounded, comparative research across several communities, the projects take into account local differences in initial conditions and problem constellations.

Individual projects apply the leading research question to different topical areas (see below) combining three interrelated levels of analysis.

Institutions: A complex institutional framework governs the relations between the central and the local level of administration as well as between local actors. Over the past twenty years, a number of macro-institutional shifts occurred that partly intensified the structural problems in regional Japan, while also opening up new spaces for local agency. How, by whom and to what extent these opportunities are being seized is conditioned by specific local structures, norms and social practices. To this end, institutional-level analysis provides key insight into the dynamics that shape the risks and opportunities in local communities.

Actors: Specific local conditions, interest constellations and actor configurations evoke different strategies and approaches in addressing the challenges mentioned above. Accordingly, the level and the effectiveness of local political and economic initiatives as well as the role and the influence of various interest groups and civic engagement can be expected to vary across localities. As a result, comparative analysis of the different kinds of actors and their contexts can highlight the similarities and differences across various communities.

Discourses: Idealized and stereotypical notions of rurality, community and social life shape the self-conception of local actors and serve as references in the legitimization of political action and the mobilization of special interests. They are constructed, handed down and modified through narratives. The implied interpretative frames vary across localities and social groups and are constantly competing for universal acceptance. Discourse-level analysis thus offers insights into the dynamic processes of social, political, and ideological narrative constructions of Japan’s local communities.

Besides a review of academic literature and analyses of media discourses, socio-economic indicators, legal frameworks and political processes, the individual projects all include qualitative case studies based on detailed, on-the-ground field research.

Moreover, with its focus on the local level, the major research theme aims for a more fine-grained understanding of the socio-economic and political transformation processes occurring in Japan’s regions. This approach offers several advantages:

  • Case studies at the local level allow for a more detailed analysis of the relevant local stakeholders, their micro-strategies, and interactions.
  • This helps us to better account for the complexity resulting from the simultaneity and interdependence of the various challenges.
  • Initial conditions, severity of issues, sought-for solutions and future prospects all vary considerably across local communities. Such variety is often overlooked when analyzing Japan’s challenges at the aggregate national level.
  • The variety of local conditions allows for comparative and multivariate analyses. Both are essential for enhancing our understanding of the importance played by the specifics of local conditions and for finding out to what extent outcomes can be generalized.

Related Research Projects

Fishing communities between growth and demise

Listening to the Community: Grassroots Mental Healthcare in Local Communities

Local Issues Take Stage – Culture and Community Revitalization

Parental well-being in the rural periphery of Germany and Japan: Choices, challenges, and considerations

Technical Innovation and Research Collaboration / Clusters: Biomedical Engineering in Japan

The meaning of local community for happiness and selfhood

What is the "local"? - Rethinking the politics of subnational spaces in Japan

Completed Projects

Harvesting State Support – Endogenous Institutional Change and the Role of the “Local” in Japan’s Agricultural Support and Protection Regime

The Changing Political Economy of “Rural Revitalization”

Events

November 7, 2019
Workshops
Leadership in a Digital World: 
Innovative – Human – Collaborative