Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien
Nora Kottmann
-

CV & Publications

CV & Publications Nora Kottmann 

Nora Kottmann

Nora Kottmann
-
Principal Researcher
Sozialwissenschaften
Forschungsgruppenleiterin 'Methoden und Methodologien'
Seit September 2018

kottmann@dijtokyo.org

Profil auf ORCID

Meine Forschung beschäftigt sich allem voran mit der Frage, wo und wie Menschen im Kontext sich verändernder sozio-ökonomischer Gegebenheiten und globaler Prozesse und Entwicklungen Beziehungen leben und Zugehörigkeit(en) herstellen. Meine Forschungsthemen umfassen Heirat und Familie, persönliche Beziehungen, Single-Dasein, Diversifizierung von Lebensstilen, Diversität, Work-Life-Balance, Gender, demographischer und sozialer Wandel, transnationale und multilokale Familien/Beziehungen, Migration, (Im)Mobilität, sowie Methoden (qualitativ und mixed-methods) in den Sozialwissenschaften.

Am DIJ arbeite ich derzeit vornehmlich an drei Projekten: (1) Beziehungen „jenseits“ der Heirat und Beziehungsräume im städtischen Japan (Single-Dasein, Freundschaften, Wohngemeinschaften, et al.). (2) Der Einfluss der Pandemie auf ledige Personen („Singles“) in Japan (mit Dr. Laura Dales, The University of Western Australia) sowie (3) (Digitale) Familien- und Zugehörigkeitspraktiken hochmobiler, transnationaler „Eliten“ in und aus Asien. Seit 2020 bin ich außerdem Leiterin des Forschungsschwerpunkts „Methoden und Methodologien“. Ich organisiere die DIJ Method Talks und bin Herausgeberin des Handbuchs Studying Japan (mit Cornelia Reiher; Nomos, 2020).

Von 2008 bis 2018 habe ich als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität, Institut Modernes Japan gearbeitet. Dort wurde ich 2015 mit einer soziologischen Studie zur Bedeutung der Heirat im Kontext des demographischen Wandels und der Überalterung der Gesellschaft promoviert (Heirat in Japan; Springer VS, 2016). Ich habe an verschiedenen europäischen und japanischen Universitäten gelehrt und meine Forschung ist in peer-reviewed Fachzeitschriften, u.a. Gender Place & Culture und International Journal of Social Research Methodology, erschienen. Neben meiner Spezialisierung auf das zeitgenössische Japan habe ich Expertise in und Interesse an Südasien, insbesondere Nepal und Indien. 

Laufende DIJ Projekte

Relationships in motion: Doing belonging on a global stage

Der Einfluss der COVID-19 Pandemie auf Singles in Japan. Persönliche Beziehungen und practices of intimacy in Zeiten von social distancing und Selbstdisziplin

COVID-19: Japans Umgang mit einer neuen Herausforderung im internationalen Vergleich

Risiken und Chancen der ‚Hyper-Solo-Gesellschaft’. (Re)Mapping Intimacy – Räumliche Perspektiven auf Persönliche Beziehungen im Japan der Gegenwart

Abgeschlossene DIJ Projekte

Das Handbuchprojekt Studying Japan: Research Designs, Fieldwork and Methods

Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien nav lang search
日本語EnglishDeutsch
Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien
Nora Kottmann
-

CV & Publications

CV & Publications Nora Kottmann 

Nora Kottmann

Nora Kottmann
-
Principal Researcher
Social Science
Head of research group 'Methods and Methodologies'
Since September 2018

kottmann@dijtokyo.org

Profile on ORCID

My research centers around the question of how and where individuals relate and belong in the context of changing socio-economic contexts and global processes and developments. It addresses a broad array of topics, including marriage and the family, personal relationships, singlehood, diversification of life styles, diversity, work-life-balance, gender, demographic and social change, transnational and multilocal families/relationships, privileged migration, (im)mobility, as well as methods (qualitative, mixed methods) in social science research.

At the DIJ, I am currently working on three main projects: (1) Relationships ‘beyond‘ marriage and intimate spaces in urban Japan (e.g., romantic relationships, singlehood, friendships, collective/shared housing); (2) The effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on unmarried individuals in Japan (with Dr. Laura Dales, The University of Western Australia); (3) (Digital) family practices and practices of belonging of highly mobile, transnational professionals in and from Asia. Since 2020, I am also the head of the research focus ‘Area Studies: Methods and Methodologies’. I am the organizer of the DIJ Method Talks and editor of the handbook Studying Japan (with Dr. Cornelia Reiher; Nomos, 2020).

From 2008–2018, I worked at the HHU Düsseldorf as Research Associate and Lecturer (Institute for Modern Japanese Studies). There, I received my PhD with a sociological study on the meaning of marriage in the context of of the low birth rate and the rapidly aging society (publication: Marriage in Japan; Springer VS, 2016). I taught at several European and Japanese Universities and my work has been published in a number of peer-reviewed journals, including Gender Place & Culture, Social Science Japan Journal, and International Journal of Social Research Methodology. In addition to my specialization in contemporary Japan, I have a profound interest and expertise in South Asia, in particular Nepal and India.

Current DIJ Projects

Relationships in motion: Doing belonging on a global stage

COVID-19 and its effects on singles in Japan:
Personal relationships and practices of intimacy in the time of ‘social distancing’ and ‘self-discipline’

COVID-19: Japan’s handling of a new challenge in international comparison

The Risks and Opportunities of the ‘Hyper-Solo-Society’. (Re)Mapping Intimacy – Spatial Perspectives on Personal Relationships in Contemporary Japan

Handbook Project Studying Japan: Research Designs, Fieldwork and Methods